Posted by: bgtwindad | May 3, 2010

Scratchbuilt Oil Storage

Recently I was honored with a “Random Award” for my participation on the nScale.net website.  Apparently, they were amused with my ramblings.

The gift was a 22,500 gallon standard tank car, ACFX #83123, with the GAF coporate logo.  A particularly thoughtful gift, since my planned layout includes a chemical plant as a primary feature.  Unfortunately, my current layout has no place to park a tank car (even though I already own two…).  So, I decided to build one.

Never having scratchbuilt a structure before, I was entirely in the dark, but I think it worked out OK.  I made the tanks out of 1.5″ dowel, and the the piping from 14 gauge household wire.  A little paint, and a sign made from styrene and an image laser printed on paper, and voila!  I have a petroleum facility!

ACFX 83123 at NSN Group Petrochemicals

ACFX 83123 at NSN Group Petrochemicals

Leave a Reply

Categories

