Posted by: bgtwindad | June 28, 2010

Vacation Railfanning


IMG_0304

Originally uploaded by BGTwinDad

I just got back from a week at the beach in North Carolina. While traveling to and fro, I couldn’t help checking out what trains I might see. Unfortunately, I was only prepared with camera to quickly snap this beauty. This is Aberdeen, Carolina & Western #9538, an EMD GP40-2LW, formerly of the CN, where it had the same road number.

This guy had a cut of about 3 cars near Candor, NC, and just after I took the picture, they scooted away. On the return trip, the same line had a very long train of covered hoppers, but I could not see what was pulling it.

I also spotted a couple of long coal drags hauling black gold out of the West Virginia hills and a fast manifest freight rolling westbound through southern North Carolina.

The vacation itself was a week full of sun and sand and surf, but I also relaxed while reading “Railroad Signaling” by Brian Solomon – an excellent book if you want to understand the whys and wherefores of signaling. And I managed to get some further detailing done on my HO GP20 project, too… But that’s grist for another post…

Leave a Reply

Categories

