Posted by: bgtwindad | August 20, 2010

NSN Summer Layout Party Completed

View of the (future) East High Bridge, Glover's Bend, WV.

View of the (future) East High Bridge, Glover's Bend, WV.

The nScale.net Summer Layout Party concluded a few days ago (Aug. 15).  By all accounts it was a roaring success.  I was able to build my benchwork and get the foam rough-graded in preparation for laying roadbed.  You can see the full story in my thread on the NSN website.  Additional photos are available at Flickr.

While I was doing that, I was also fleshing out plans for the electrical system to drive this thing (there’s a thread for this, too!).  In typical Engineer fashion, I’ve seriously over-designed it, running at over 13 pages and still growing.  It’s a good thing that the design and planning part is something I enjoy.  Still, there are days when I envy the folks who can just throw some sectional track on a dinner table and start experimenting.

I’ve taken a bit of a break since then, mostly been purchasing parts & materials for the next phase, which will be tracklaying and installing the main power bus.  There will be more news on that coming soon.

Ongoing layout progress and electrical design progress will be tracked in detail on threads at nScale.net, with periodic updates and news posted here as well.  I also hope to write a few articles on particular things I learn as I go along.

Oh, and in other news, I’ve got two big boxes from Parvia in my foyer!

Leave a Reply

Categories

