Posted by: bgtwindad | September 18, 2010

First Parvia building


First Parvia building

Originally uploaded by BGTwinDad

This is the long-awaited second step in my review of the Parvia building system. Today, I built a small passenger station for my railroad.

To be honest, that big box o’ parts has been intimidating me a bit, but I had some time to fiddle today, and I’ve been needing a temporary passenger station for my N scale layout, so I decided to take a stab at building something. I’m fairly pleased with the results.

I intentionally ignored the how-to video on the Parvia website, but I did refer to the beta test of the quick reference sheet the company is designing. It will be very helpful when it is finished.

The system is fairly intuitive, and a little experimentation can produce good results. I will provide more detail on the construction process in a later post. As you might notice from the photo, while I used the foundation components, I skipped the base. It is 3/4 inch thick, and to get the right height on a layout, one would need to bury the base below grade (or not use it).

On a good note, with the unmarked “drive” parts I used, the platform is just slightly below the NMRA platform clearance gauge height. Close enough to be realistic, and short enough to be well clear of rolling stock.

The building itself is 2-7/8″ x 1-7/8″ x 3/4″ tall to the roofline, or 38.3 x 25 x 10 scale feet.

While in general, I’m pleased with this initial foray, I must note a few items.

First, the system “suffers” from an inherent limitation of modular systems – they must have a standard unit of size in order to be modular. This isn’t necessarily a problem (hence the quotes), just an item of note.

Second, some of the parts fit loosely. Part of this may be operator error – I’m still learning how the parts are supposed to fit together – but part may be a minor manufacturing tolerance issue on the connecting surface. Or it might be intentional. It is useful to be able to take the models apart and rebuild them differently, and too-tight parts would make this difficult.

In short, my initial foray into Parvia has been a pleasant one. Next up will be actually using the base and creating a small streetscape.

Leave a Reply

Categories

